Of Faith in God and in Christ

OF FAITH IN GOD AND IN CHRIST

“Faith is a motion of the soul unto Christ; having looked and gazed at him with wonder and pleasure, it moves towards him. This is expressed by coming unto him. ‘He that cometh to me,’ says Christ, ‘shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me,’ which explains what is meant by coming, ‘shall never thirst,’ (John 6:35)… Coming to Christ is upon an invitation given, encouraging to it; not only by others, by the Spirit and the bride, who say ‘come,’  (Rev. 22:17) and by the ministers of the word; ‘Ho, every one that thirsteth, come ye to the waters; and he that hath no money, come!’ and who, through the gospel trumpet being blown with power, and the sound of it attended with efficacious grace, they that are ‘ready to perish’ come, (Isa. 27:13; 55:1) but also by Christ himself, who says, ‘Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest!’ (Matt. 11:28). Such souls come, being influenced and powerfully wrought upon by the grace of God; ‘All that the Father giveth me,’ says Christ, ‘shall come to me;’ efficacious grace will cause them to come, will bring them to him, through all discouragements, difficulties, and objections, and which are all removed by what follows; ‘and him that cometh to me I will in no wise cast out,’ (John 6:37). This coming to Christ as a Saviour, or believing in him, is owing to the Father’s teachings, instructions, and drawing; ‘No man can come to me,’ says Christ, that is, believe in him, ‘except the Father, which hath sent me, draw him,’ draw him with his lovingkindness, and through the power of his grace, and of his divine teachings; ‘every man therefore that hath heard and learned of the Father cometh unto me.’ Yea, this is a pure gift of his grace, ‘therefore said I unto you, that no man can come unto me except it were given unto him of my Father,’ (John 6:44, 45, 65) and such souls come to Christ in a view of the blessings of grace, of righteousness, and strength, peace and pardon, salvation and eternal life; these are the goodness of the Lord, they flow unto him for with great eagerness, swiftness, and cheerfulness.” (John Gill)

For more on the subject, please visit the Systematic Theology page.

 

Recommended reading:

 

Leave a Reply

